Kaspersky Internet Security 2009 detects ad.doubleclick.net ads as a Phishing site

It was a shock for me when i got the popup message from kaspersky Internet Security 2009 stating that “Application Firefox contains link to webpage http://…/ad.doubleclick.net&mtfNoflush=True, used to steal passwords, credit card numbers and other confidential data. Denied”. Site that i was browsing at that time was youtube.com, everything was fine up till the main page of the site. I entered a publisher channel to watch the video and at that time the message popped up immediately. Then i tried watching other videos, than what i noticed that the phishing message was showing only on the publisher channels.  The normal videos were coming without any popup warning. I was using mozilla firefox at that time, so i decided to check it with google chrome.

mozilla firefox phishing message for ads.doubleclick.net

mozilla firefox phishing message for ads.doubleclick.net

When i checked it with google chrome the results were the same, message  popped up on the publishers channel videos while things were normal for the ordinary video contributor channels.

Google Chrome phishing message for ads.doubleclick.net

Google Chrome phishing message for ads.doubleclick.net

Doubleclick is using some hard DART cookies on the publisher channel to track there performance, and the advertisers needs, but somewhere its forgetting the viewers and their privacy. Kaspersky detailed report screen short is attached.

Kaspersky Internet Security 2009 details on ads.doubleclick.net phishing activity

Kaspersky Internet Security 2009 details on ads.doubleclick.net phishing activity

6/8/2009 5:15:12 PM    http://ad.doubleclick.net/879366/DartShell7_7.swf?adServerHost=http://ad.doubleclick.net&mtfNoFlush=true    Firefox    Denied    Phishing site    ad.doubleclick.net/click;h?v8/3845/0/0/*/c;215272976;0-0;1;17564804;28036-560/228;31627784/31645660/1;;~sscs?http://eatps.web.aol.com/open_web_adhoc?subtype?2811&distset?3au0509p0cmct3&click?http://nospam.ath.cx/index2.html    High    Exact    Databases

-Text from the above sereenshot

On investigating i have founded that this warning is a common warning that is popped up on the screen of the visitors  by there antiviruses for the past 2 months ever since google has decided to move for interest based advertising. Cookies has been a issue with google from a long time, history has its record. Hope it fixes it soon.

Post to Twitter Post to Plurk Post to Yahoo Buzz Post to Delicious Post to Digg Post to Ping.fm Post to Reddit Reddit This Post Post to StumbleUpon

Related Posts

  • No Related Post

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Kaspersky Internet Security 2009 detects ad.doubleclick.net ads as a Phishing site”

  1. colors says:

    Kaspersky Internet Security 2009 detects ad.doubleclick.net : http://digg.com/d1tFGg?t

Leave a Reply